Transcribing Documents in DEVONthink 2.0

In neglecting this blog for, really, a couple months, I let pass mention that Devon-Technologies officially released DEVONthink 2.0 at the end of February. I’m still in love with DT, which I’ve written about on a number of occasions in the past. I should probably write a long piece detailing how the new DTPO has changed some of my work habits. For now, though, here’s a little screenshot on how I’m using the Sorter to transcribe manuscript pages on a single screen.

I do this when I’m on my laptop, and don’t have access to dual-screens – on the airplane, for example. It works very well. I create a destination folder in my database, drag that folder into the sorter, and then take new notes (ctrl-n) that are saved directly into that folder. I’ll usually add a few tags through that interface as well.

About

Associate Professor of Early Latin America Department of History University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Apps for Research, Processes, Research and Writing
One comment on “Transcribing Documents in DEVONthink 2.0
  1. alarob says:

    I have DEVONthink and have been at something of a loss as to how to use it. This is probably because I got on board in the middle of the long, slow transition to a tagging interface. Actually began to resent all the market-speak from the developers about “intelligent” this-or-that. DEVONthink is about as intelligent as a chisel or a pair of socks; that’s all we should expect from a tool. Anyway, looking forward to reading your other posts on DT.

Leave a Reply

parecer:
parecer:

Hacer juicio ú dictamen acerca de alguna cosa... significando que el objeto excita el juicio ú dictamen en la persona que le hace.

Deducir ante el Juez la accion ú derecho que se tiene, ó las excepciones que excluyen la accion contrária.

RAE 1737 Academia autoridades
Buy my book!



Chad Black

About:
I, your humble contributor, am Chad Black. You can also find me on the web here.
