Posts on devonthink

As these are by far the most popular posts on this blog, here are direct links to my devonthink posts in order:

Devonthink and Other Mac Apps for History and Humanities Research

Devonthink for Historical Research, part II

Devonthink for Historical Research, part III

Please do stay around and read some of the other entries too!

Update: Devon Technologies released Devonthink 2.0 for public beta today, 18 December. I’ve just downloaded it and will be playing around with it for the next few days. In reading the initial documentation, it promises to be an excellent improvement on an already fantastic application. I’m especially excited about the universal inbox, the expansion of file-type indexing capabilities, the ability to open and search two databases at once, new PDF annotating functionality (not fully implemented in this build), tagging (not yet implemented), and more. As I get some time with it, I’m sure I’ll update how it changes/enhances the processes described in the posts above.

About

Associate Professor of Early Latin America Department of History University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
10 comments on “Posts on devonthink
  1. BQ says:

    A few days ago I started to fool around with DT with some mixed feelings about it. I do like the OCR feautre and can see its potential (if it works reliably, again, mixed results so far. Just throwing some random PDF’s to it and see what happens. Some do convert others don’t. Some take a few tries…). I haven’t even touched the documentation. Seems daunting, and I have to finish grading :).

    Then I see DT 2.0 is out with some features that make it even more attractive, like storing externally. Somehow I don’t like the current default of duplicating a PDF into the database. For instance, if edit the original, the copy won’t reflect the change–yes, I know I can hold the command key and it becomes a symbolic link–but I just like keeping all my PDF in one folder and not worry if I’m making changes in one place but not another and then have multiple copies of the same file and have to figure out which one has the changes I made. Thus, I use symbolic links (short cuts) to all my PDF’s for the different projects (which reminds me, is there a way to do this in Scrivener? keep a link to the file but not actually copy it into the Scrivener folder?).

  2. Amafortas says:

    parezco y digo,

    Thanks for the update on DT 2.0, and based on some of your comments on the pervious version, I’ve decided to try out 2.0.

    Do you have any more thoughts about the 2.0 interface and its usability?

    Thanks,

    ~A

  3. […] If you are using (or planning to use) DEVONthink for serious research, you may want to read a bit more on how Chad has integrated DEVONthink into his workflow. Read his articles here. […]

  4. […] DEVONthink is an extremely powerful and adaptable database program that has significant potential for qualitative researches across the humanities. It’s ability to store and connect discrete bits of information, from the quickly jotted idea to pdfs of articles, books, dissertations (many of which can now be downloaded directly from UMI), and the like, is in my experience unparalleled in either the Mac or Microsoft worlds. Your mileage may vary, but that has been my experience. Last Fall I wrote a series of posts documenting what was then my digital workflow, and which utilized DEVONthink Pro Office 1.5. Those posts are all linked to here. […]

  5. […] DevonThink for historical research […]

  6. […] a month and a half! Prompted by recent posts by Shane Landrum and Bill Turkel, and as an update on these posts, I thought it would be worthwhile to write up the ever-changing nature of my current workflow, the […]

  7. […] Black gives a terrifically detailed description of how he uses […]

  8. […] powerful search and categorization features without getting locked into its database (check out Chad Black’s post on DEVONthink to get a sense of the app’s power in searching and categorization). When it comes to finally […]

  9. […] that works best for their writing/research style, so be sure to look at Rachael Loew’s and Chad Black’s posts for more […]

Leave a comment

parecer:
parecer:

Hacer juicio ú dictamen acerca de alguna cosa... significando que el objeto excita el juicio ú dictamen en la persona que le hace.

Deducir ante el Juez la accion ú derecho que se tiene, ó las excepciones que excluyen la accion contrária.

RAE 1737 Academia autoridades
Buy my book!



Chad Black

About:
I, your humble contributor, am Chad Black. You can also find me on the web here.